Healing & Studying go hand in hand by Elaine Davenport (Monday, September 24, 2007)

Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

2 Timothy 2: 15

I had my prayer meditation this morning before leaving for church around 7:00 a.m.; I was sure that I heard the words:

Write about studying, but you study first.

okay, I thought but I was still not clear. I thought I was by studying daily. I thought I had a good pattern, a pretty good routine.

THAT WAS THE PROBLEM!

Somehow over the years, I had formed a habit and I was off the mark.

So it is with great humility that I explain to you where I went wrong even though I guess I knew it.

It’s about studying. You see if you want to be healed; any saint should point you to the Word of God for healing scriptures. You may also be told to develop a prayer life. Wisdom dictates that you get close to God and herein where the solution lies.

My studying has always been sincere, but not long ago I realized that my spiritual growth had slowed down. Not many people will admit this. I had hit an impasse. I wasn’t losing ground, I just wasn’t gaining with the kind of acceleration that I needed. I was needing a way out.

A LOT OF PEOPLE WANT TO BE HEALED….

The famous evangelist; Katherine Kuhlman once said when asked by people how she was able to sleigh in the spirit sometimes hundreds of people and perform miracles: “You’ve got to be willing to pay the price.”

So, I guess the question is: “What’s the price?”

We live in a fast paced society. Ask any busy mother. She may find herself living out the roles of: saint of God; by studying the Word and serving in her church or community , wife, homeaker , mother, caregiver, provider and any other tasks she chooses to take on. However, if she finds herself in need of healing; she’s got to specifically get out that word on healing and say it, think on it and believe it. Why? Here’s why:

For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart Hebrews 4: 12

So all this talk and I still haven’t given you an answer I’ve pursued that too me many years to find and was right up under my nose.

This is what I discovered works for me. You may not believe it but; my taking time to read the bible cover to cover has made all of the difference and reignited my spiritual growth. It will not be easy. You can’t skip around. Here’s what you can expect: to really hear from God.

WHEN I READ THE WORD, I READ IT OUT LOUD; AS I DO THIS THERE ARE CERTAIN WORDS THAT JUMP OUT AT ME AND I WRITE THEM DOWN AND SPEAK THEM ON A CONTINUOUS BASIS. I HAVE BEEN TAUGHT THAT THERE IS POWER IN THE THINGS THAT WE SAY. SAY WHAT GOD SAYS ABOUT YOU IN HIS WORD; MAKE IT A PART OF YOUR NORMAL DAILY CONVERSATION.

That is a welcome reward. Why don’t you look into it?

Leave a comment